Himalayan VOICES High Himalaya FORUM Himalayan Heritage  
  Hill Area Development Programme

HADP has been in operation since the inception of the Fifth Five-Year Plan and is being implemented for the integrated development of designated hill areas. The main objective of this programme is to ensure ecologically sustainable socio-economic development of hill areas, keeping in view the basic needs of the people of hill areas.


The Special Central Assistance (SCA) provided for HADP is additive to normal State Plan funds and supplements the efforts of the State Governments towards accelerating the development of hill areas. The SCA is now divided amongst the designated hill areas under HADP and the designated talukas of Western Ghats Development Programme in the ratio of 84:16. The SCA distribution is on the basis of area and population, with equal weightage given to both the criteria. The State Governments are required to prepare a separate sub-plan for the Hill Areas indicating the flow of funds from the State Plan and Special Central Assistance. The total allocation of SCA for 2000-2001 under HADP was Rs.400 crore.

The Designated Hill Areas covered under HADP were identified in 1965 by a Committee of the National Development Council (NDC). These include: Two hill districts of Assam-North Cachar and Karbi Anglong; Nine districts of Uttar Pradesh – Dehradun, Pauri Garhwal, Tehri Garhwal, Chamoli, Uttar Kashi, Nainital, Almora, Pithoragarh and Udham Singh Nagar; Major part of Darjeeling district of West Bengal; and Nilgiris district of Tamil Nadu.

Residents of the designated Hill Areas

Contact for further information:
Reference URL: